Here Comes Spring!

Spring is on its way! The daffodils are starting to open and the fruit trees are budding out. I found this old car mirror near the a daffodils and decided it might make an interesting shot.

Nikon D90 w/ Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6@ 48mm, f/16, 1/125s, ISO 200

Nikon D90 w/ Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6@ 200mm, f/5.6, 1/1250s, ISO 200

About amcnabb3

I’m a high school math teacher who loves teaching and photography.

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Nature, Plants/Trees and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. ladyberrington

    I love the car mirror photo!!!

    • Thanks! I really like doing shots with mirrors, so I was excited when I stumbled across the mirror in the weeds.

  2. ladyberrington

    I am just about to buy my first dslr camera.
    I am sooo excited, but a bit overwhelemd with what to buy.
    I really want to find something used and am able to find quite a few about 300-400…I just want to make the ‘right’ choice for me. I want to be able to take nature shots but necessarily the wow what pretty sunset or flower photos. I like to think I will be able to catch what I ‘see’ when I am out and about.

    Do you have any tips for me?

    • My experience with used equipment has been mixed (I did it once on a lens and did not do it again). If you’re going used make sure you get it from a reputable store or individual, preferably with some sort of guarantee. There are quite a few entry-level dSLRs that you can get new for $400-500. I would go with one of the major brands so it is easy to keep your lenses if you ever upgrade. I’ve loved my Nikons (D50 and D90), but have also heard good things about Canons. The Canon Rebel XS and Nikon D3100 seem to have pretty good reviews for new entry-level dSLRS.

      If you’re going to take nature shots, I’m sure you’ll eventually want a telephoto lens, but you don’t necessarily need one right away. I just had my 18-55mm for probably a year until I saved up for a zoom lens and still had a great time. You can get a decent entry level telephoto zoom in the 55-300mm range for around $200.

      I would recommend you do some review reading online and get a few top candidates, then go to a store and get an idea of what the controls are like and how they fit your hands. My favorite review site is: http://www.imaging-resource.com/. And remember, the camera is just a tool, important yes, but at some point how you use it is more important than which one you have. Good luck in your search!

      • ladyberrington

        hi

        well right now I have an opportunity to be 3 or 4 diff used cameras
        1. nikon d60
        2. olympus e420
        3. canon rebel xt
        4. canon 20d

        they all rate very good to excellent
        I believe the canon 20d is the highest quality but maybe doesn’t have all the ‘features’ that some of the others have….but then again do I need them? or shouldn’t I be thinking more of the camera that will help me take the best photos???
        the canon 20d is offered by someone who does wedding and portrait pics for $
        Now I have no plans of doing that….but if I am buying used somehow he seems to be maybe more reliable to have bought something good….make any sense?

        or
        do you have some opinions/experience with any that I have mentioned?

        thanks
        Kerry

      • I’ve never actually used any of the cameras you mentioned. I might eliminate the Nikon D60 because it has only 3 focus points, which tends to get on my nerves. I want it to focus where I want it to focus! I might stick with one of the Canons over the Olympus just because they have a wider variety of lenses available and provide more options if you ever want to upgrade. The Canon 20D has faster shutter speeds and 2 more focus points, but the Rebel XT is smaller and lighter to carry around. I think either one of them would be fine. They should take very similar pictures, so if you have the opportunity I would try to handle both of them and just see which fits your hands and feels best to you.

  3. Absolutely LOVE the daffodil in the mirror picture!!!

Leave a Reply

