Dances With Roosters

The chickens were out roaming the yard today since the weather was nice.  We have two roosters, and they can be a bit moody at times.  Those are THEIR hens, and they don’t want me near them.  So when I was out taking some pictures, both of  them were trying to sneak up and intimidate me.  They don’t usually attack me, but this one (who we call Malcolm) was definitely putting on a show, fluffing his feathers and trying to make himself look big and scary.

Nikon D90 w/ Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6@ 105mm, f/14, 1/125s, ISO 100

I was trying various shutter speeds to show off his feather ruffling and shaking, and this one turned out to be my favorite.  His neck feathers and head are sharp, but his body is blurred from all the moving he was doing.  I wasn’t thrilled by the brown grass, so I tried desaturating all the color channels except the red one and  I liked the result.

Nikon D90 w/ Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6@ 26mm, f/5, 1/1000s, ISO 200

Doesn’t he look like a ballerina or dancer of some sort?

About amcnabb3

I’m a high school math teacher who loves teaching and photography.

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Animals, Farm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

