May 17th – Hummingbirds

Nikon D90 with 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 ED VR; 200mm, f/5.6, 1/640s, ISO 800

Nikon D90 with 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 ED VR; 200mm, f/7.1, 1/800s, ISO 640

I’m always amazed at how close hummingbirds will let you get.  I was only about 8 feet from these.  They sure are fast though!  I had to crank my ISO up pretty high to catch them since it wasn’t very bright out.

About amcnabb3

I’m a high school math teacher who loves teaching and photography.

Posted on May 17, 2010, in Animals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good pictures. I am glad you finally got some of the hummers. I thought they probably liked the cigar plant but hadn’t seen them at it so it is nice to see they are sipping from it.l

Leave a Reply

